Confession: I’ve Never Completed the Main Quest in a Bethesda Game

Skyrim Catching ButterfliesThis is something I am not particularly proud of, seeing as how anyone that knows me well could tell you that Skyrim and Oblivion are two of my most favorite games. I have sunk well over 200 hours into the Elder Scrolls series as a whole, but have never even completed the main quest in any of them (including Daggerfall and Morrowind, I have never played Arena or any of the spin-offs.) Also, yes, this includes Fallout 3 and New Vegas as well. I’m not necessarily proud of these facts.

The most embarrassing thing about this is that I actually own all of these games that I have mentioned here and played them all (some more than others.) Does this mean I’m not a fan of Bethesda games, since I cannot get myself to finish the main quest in any of them? No, I don’t think so. I think their games are designed to be played how you want to and for me, that usually means getting sidetracked and doing literally anything other than the main plot.

When faced with the task of hunting dragons and saving a nation from an ancient evil, I usually decide to play with butterflies and upgrade my crafting skills instead. If I have to pick between finding out where my father went and piecing together the truth of my existence or engaging in a sniper battle on a minefield with a random hobo, I’ll take on the hobo any day.

I don’t think I’m alone on this one and I think a lot of people that play Bethesda’s games end up like me – they get so enthralled in the world that was created, they can’t get themselves to look at it like a game and just “finish it.” Maybe it’s really just part of how I view gaming – not as a means of completing things and just simply having fun, but as a way to immerse myself and escape into another world. I procrastinate so much in real life, I’d be foolish to think it would be any different in a video game.

Mission: Before I go back to classes for my last semester (January 14th,) I pledge to finish the main quest of both Fallout 3 and Skyrim. Let’s do this.

About David Jagneaux

Games Editor at UploadVR and freelance game journalist for various publications.
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Confession: I’ve Never Completed the Main Quest in a Bethesda Game

  1. Matt Westen says:

    Honestly, I don’t think I have either. Still pour countless hours into them but never finish the stories. I might have seen the end of Oblivion but don’t think I beat it.

  2. Pingback: Gamer Update 1/3/13 – Hope Lost | David Jagneaux

  3. Pingback: Gamer Update 1/6/13 – Making Progress | David Jagneaux

Leave a Reply

