Gamer Update 1/6/13 – Making Progress

spec ops the line sad faceIn the past week I have actually seen the credits roll in two – yes, a whopping total of two – games. Neither of them are Bethesda titles, despite my mission pledge, but they are both two actual real games. See, I have this issue where a lot of the time I start games, get super into them and then suddenly either stop playing them or move onto something else. Gamer ADD? Serial gaming? I don’t know what to call it, but it happens a lot.

Thankfully, I am making progress in overcoming this crippling weakness of mine. It really isn’t that huge of a problem, but it’s just frustrating because I have so many games in my backlog that I really really want to play, but so little time and dedication. The two games I actually finished are Darksiders 2 and Spec Ops: The Line.

Darksiders 2 – I have had this game since launch, but after I started playing it I also started reviewing a whole slew of games in September and October in 2012, as you can tell here. This, combined with the fact that I knew it was a 20+ hour time commitment for the main campaign alone, meant that I was apprehensive to play it before I knew I had the time.

Thus, once winter break from classes hit I dove right back in and was finally able to finish it. If you like the first Darksiders (which I really really liked a lot) then you will probably love this game (which I really really loved a lot.) It’s like they took a basic action-RPG framework, put in God of War style combat, Legend of Zelda style adventures/dungeons and Prince of Persia style platforming. The best part: it works really really well. You also get to literally play as Death, which is pretty awesome in and of itself.

Spec Ops: The Line – I was lucky enough to get some wonderful Steam moniez from a good friend for Christmas. With that money, during the Steam sales I purchased this game, Batman Arkham City: GOTY Edition, Deus Ex: Human Revolution w/ DLC, The Witcher 2 Enhanced Edition and Skyrim’s Hearthfire DLC. Pretty awesome haul I must say. I had heard a lot about this game from friends and was very excited to finally start playing it after I got it on sale for a couple bucks. Final verdict: fantastic.

spec ops the line cover

The basic premise of the game involves you being sent into Dubai to do a bit of recon about some missing troops, checking out the area, etc. Things quickly escalate and, without giving anything away, you end up being forced into some less than favorable situations. The things you do in this game are nothing short of shocking and it’s one of the best shooters I have played this generation. The narrative is told so well and Nolan North’s performance is (as always) phenomenal. If you’re interested in a game that tackles some sensitive topics and does the polar opposite of glorifying the military, I cannot recommend Spec Ops: The Line enough. The ending is still giving me chills.

Next games to focus on: Final Fantasy XIII and Final Fantasy XIII-2. Been looking forward to playing these for some time now!

About David Jagneaux

Games Editor at UploadVR and freelance game journalist for various publications.
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

