Gamer Update 1/12/13 – Gamers May Cry

dmc picGames for Reviewing: Just got DmC Devil May Cry early in the mail from Capcom. You can check out my unboxing of the game right here over on PlayStation University and my review will be up early next week! This game has been getting quite a bit of buzz, so it should be cool to see how it is once I get a chance to really dig into it.

I’m also on the list with Namco to receive Ni No Kuni: Wrath of the White Witch later this month, which is easily one of my most anticipated games of the entire year. I did both video previews of the game and a written preview that you can check out here. Look for a review on that one around its release (1/22 in the US.)

Games of Pleasure: Well, I am making progress in Final Fantasy XIII so far. I gotta say, I’m loving it. Maybe I’m playing the game too much like it’s a walk down a single path in a park full of wonderful spectacles and beautiful women? Well, I think I’m playing it like that because that’s basically exactly what the game is – I am okay with this.

lightning ff 13The graphics are beautiful, the characters are interesting, the story is intriguing (if not for its complete lack of depth and clarity) and the combat is immensely entertaining. Clearly the game is flawed and if I had bought this on release expecting something on the level of Final Fantasy X, I may have been disappointed. However, I did my homework on what this game was and I’m really enjoying it so far. Additionally, I busted out the SNES recently for some Mario time…for no reason really. Played Mario World and the All-Stars Collection for a good couple of hours. I like to reacquaint myself with the games of gaming past to remind myself how far the industry has come; I also just really love playing older games. I’m one of those gamers.

Finally, I am nearly done with Gravity Rush and I really do want to finish the game sometime soon. It’s pretty awesome, I’ll write out some more detailed impressions after I beat it, maybe, but I really like it a lot.

That about covers it. When I’m not making Devils Cry or Kuning my Ni No, I’ll be delving deeper into Lightning…’s games.

About David Jagneaux

Games Editor at UploadVR and freelance game journalist for various publications.
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gamer Update 1/12/13 – Gamers May Cry

  1. Pingback: Gamer Update 1/31 – Keeping Busy | David Jagneaux

Leave a Reply

