Gamer Update 1/31 – Keeping Busy

ni no kuniIt’s been a while since my last Gamer Update (over two weeks to be exact) and I have been pretty busy as of late. With my day (and actually, sometimes night) job and class taking up a lot of my time, trying to find time for writing and reviews is always difficult this time of year. Thankfully, I will be graduating in May and hope to use my degrees and time to push my career even further forward.

Kuning my Ni No:

With all of those excuses out of the way, now to the real point: what all have I been and will I be playing? Well, after finishing up my review of DmC: Devil May Cry (which is an awesome game, by the way) I pretty much dove directly into Ni no Kuni: Wrath of the White Witch head-first. My review for the game for PlayStation University is still not completed (going to school full-time and working, plus other commitments is not very conducive to finishing and reviewing JRPGs quickl) but I am absolutely loving it. You can check out my early copy unboxing of the game here as well, if you’re interested in that sort of thing. Review coming (very) soon; I promise!

What Else is Coming?

Once I finish that game up, I’ve got a whole litany of stuff to work on, mostly for The Koalition. Let’s go over the main highights of stuff you can look out for from me:

  • Antichamber Review and Gameplay Videos + CommentaryantichamberThis is a quirky and mind-bending first-person immersive puzzle game. That’s the only way I can really think of to describe it. The art style is…simplistic…and it’s very open-ended and non-linear. I haven’t played quite enough to offer more insight than that, but I’ll be reviewing it very soon.
  • Fire Emblem: Awakening Review – Nintendo was kind enough to send me an early review copy of the game for the Nintendo 3DS (once again, here is my early unboxing video) and I haven’t played much of it yet. I have played the demo already and dabbled with some other entries in the series, so I am fully aware of what to expect and am very excited.
  • Neverwinter Press Beta, Beta Weekened and Developer Interviewneverwinter mmoAs you might have noticed in this list of the best free MMORPGs to look out for in 2013, I am fairly excited for Neverwinter. The game is looking really great from what I have seen so far and the concepts are extremely appealing. I’ll be participating in an early-access press beta, beta weekends after that (details here) as well as conducting an interview with a developer for the game. EXCITING!
  • Various Other Reviews and Previews – I’ve got access to the latest Mulitplayer DLC for Painkiller Hell & Damnation on PC (review here,) review codes for Dungeonland, access (and probably interview with devs) for A Valley Without Wind 2 and a pretty lengthy with a Paradox developer working on March of the Eagles.

As you can see, quite a lot of stuff coming in the next couple weeks. Hopefully I can find some time to eat and sleep as well, but then again, what good is that stuff when you have so many games to play?

About David Jagneaux

Games Editor at UploadVR and freelance game journalist for various publications.
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

