Gamer Update 3/10 – March Madness

narutoIt’s been well over a month since my last gamer update and it’s not because I just haven’t had anything to update about – there is actually a ton. I’ve just been too busy to really devote time to updating my stuff here! Today I went ahead and updated this blog with all of my recent reviews (4 this month, already!) as well as some editorials and the return of my Free-to-Play Focus series! Check out all of my other updates in my gaming life right here.

General Updates
I have stepped down from my role as the interim Editor-in-Chief of PlayStation University, so I won’t be publishing any of my work on that site anymore. The owner and I parted on good terms and we are both just looking to pursue some other things at the moment.

The Koalition is growing more and more each month, with new writers joining the team, more content on a more regular basis, the revitalization of our YouTube page with gameplay videos, unboxings and now a new weekly series from Electro Jade called Gamer Gossip! Everything is looking great and there are even some cool things I can’t talk about yet with The Koalition, so keep an eye out for more updates on that!

the koalition gamer girl

The Koalition has also debuted its brand-spanking new site theme/design! The new design puts a heavy emphasis on images, with a high threshold of high quality screenshots and other types of imagery. The look is very slick and clean, and the tabs at the top have been reorganized as well as including a video tab with a direct feed to the most recent videos on our YouTube! Check it out!

Games Already Reviewed in March

I have actually already published four game reviews this month with five more to come before the month of March ends! I have provided an excerpt + link for the four published reviews below:

Sonic & All-Stars Racing Transformed 3DS – “While it’s not Mario Kart, it makes a quite convincing case for your time on a Nintendo console. Sonic and friends are fun to play as and the tracks are fantastic, even if the core gameplay designs are uninspired. – 70/100

A Valley Without Wind 2 – “The overall execution and depth is lacking in favor of ambitious design and charming moment of gameplay, A Valley Without Wind 2 is a great choice for gamers after something unique. It’s not quite to the point where it could be, but I can also honestly say I enjoyed my time battling the forces of Demonaica. – 75/100″

Naruto Powerful Shippuden – “Powerful Shippuden is a fun and light-hearted entry into the massive library of Naruto titles that really stands on its own. There isn’t a whole lot of depth or content to sink your teeth into with the game, but it partially makes up for those shortcomings with some really funny writing, decent action and nice art direction. – 60/100

Naruto Shippuden: Ultimate Ninja Storm 3 – “The open and empty towns to roam around in grow tedious far too quickly, cutscenes feel long and unnecessary and the gameplay lacks true depth, the game is a great shoutout to fans and resembles the anime in almost every facet. – 70/100

Upcoming Reviews in March

mirrors of fate

In addition to those four reviews I’ve already published, I have five more upcoming reviews (at least) before the month is even over! The games are as follows: Castlevania: Lords of Shadow: Mirrors of Fate (3DS), Generation of Chaos (PSP), Atelier Ayesha: The Alchemist of Dusk (PS3), Hyperdimension Neptunia Victory (PS3) and Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate (3DS). As you can see, I’m getting a lot of mileage this month out of not just my PS3, but also my 3DS and Vita as well.

This is all in addition to my determined effort to actually finish Tomb Raider this month as well. Since this week is Spring Break, I really expect to get a lot of work done!

What are You Playing this Month?

With so many games to look forward to this month, what’s on your radar? I know I look forward to playing these JRPGs as I truly love the genre, but are you going to be devoting most of your time to Tomb Raider, or Bioshock Infinite later this month?

SO MANY GAMES!

About David Jagneaux

Games Editor at UploadVR and freelance game journalist for various publications.
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

